MC-204 Covered bridge entrance, Wakefield, QC
$2.50 – $5.00
Wakefield’s original red covered bridge, called the Gendron Bridge, caught fire in 1984. It was determined that this was an act of arson. The bridge had been in existence since 1915. Three years after the fire a group of local citizens began a project to rebuild the iconic bridge. The new bridge, officially opened in October 1998, only handles bikes and pedestrian traffic, unlike its predecessor, which handled vehicular traffic. That difference aside, the current version of the bridge is an exact replica of its predecessor.